Sketchbook Guts and Doodles

I work in a sketchbook that I try to make my own. My Sketchbooks guts are modified to what I need. When this post orginially came out it was a snowy winter day a few years ago. Sketchbooks never go out of style.

 If you did not catch the first round here it is. We have all heard if looking a planner is like looking at a brain. This is my planner, organizer, sketch area and so on.

I have a Google calendar where I put appointments and such. I print out that weeks and write my to do list on it. This is my brain for the week for me to track the whole family.

Inside is also some of my doodles. This is the one I worked on for weeks during church. I can not sit and listen. When I draw I remember what was told. These drawings help me remember what the preacher was talking about.

These are also my stamps. When teaching middle school I do examples of the project to show students how they work. My examples are in my sketchbooks. Everything goes in the sketchbook. I have tried to separate a school sketchbook from home sketchbook but it does not work. I am not a compartment type person.

A pocket is a must. From handouts to bills. I keep everything here. If you are interested I would show a few different pockets for sketchbook later.

Of course some paintings. I worked with family on a church project and made a slide show backgrounds. In this book I have different types of paper. These pages are watercolor arches paper.

I am a big writer. Paper is my life. I have to feel the pen across the paper. All my list and notes just do not work on a tablet. So I journal, list and plan in this book as well. This is where all my dreams and hopes are wrote into actions.

I also cut up some watercolor paper. The good arches and put it in here. Then I create value sketches of my next artwork. Please feel free to ask questions. I love to share.

Here is some of my artist brain at work.


Leave a comment